top of page

WEEK 8: More props

Second week into my final project of this year. I’m glad to say that everything is running smoothly. Last week I planned on modelling/unwrapping/textured the large majority of my assets, not only have I achieved this aim, but I have in fact completed all of these tasks for all of the props on my asset list.

It’s the end of the second week, but I can already say that I’ve learnt a lot form this project. One of my main weakness with the last two projects was my timing. I would say I rushed them, but I did finish considerably early, a lot my time was ‘wasted’. Having planned out what I would be doing on a day by day basis I have worked more efficiently, I’ve gotten more work done, I haven’t wasted any time thinking about what I have to do next.

Along with finishing all of my assets I have also begun to look into lighting my scene. One of my stretch goals was to create a small interior scene. The plan was to have an alternate route to get the highest rooftop. I’ve begun planning out the interior scene seeing is that I’ve pretty much completed the first stage of the project; the rooftop.

Now that I’m onto my stretch goals, I’ve given myself the tools to hopefully make the main part of the rooftop even better than before. Essential, the final week will be used as a polish week in its entirety. As the player can also go through an overgrown office block to get to the roof, I can model office assets such as desks and shelves that can also be placed elsewhere on the map.

The only major problem I had this week was organising my files. As I’ve got a little over 200 assets that need to be imported into engine, things can get a little confusing. I’ve begun a second pass of my assets making sure everything is named correctly and keeping within the project outline.

Again, next week will be spent fixing the lighting of my scene, playing around with the placement of assets and work on my overall file organisation.


bottom of page