top of page

FMP 017: Filler Assets

(Lighting + filler assets (boxes, money, drape) + population - corridors/walls)

The end in sight just means theres even more work for me to do. As you probably know by now I've been spending the past couple of weeks on the basement area of the level. This week I have been modelling and texturing more assets that will be found in this area. I prioritised my time modelling the (what I like to call) filler assets. These assets are designed to be placed in the nooks and crannies of the environment. As usual, a new batch of assets also means that this week I tweak the placement of these assets and also the lighting.

The filler assets that I made this week included things like boxes, folders, chairs and general paper/documents to go alongside the ones I made last week. also modelled was a tarpaulin sheet. As always I've gotten into the work flow of modelling in max, texturing in substance painter and correcting things in photoshop.

The bulk of this week was spent on set dressing. With all the props ive modelled and imported I reached a level where I had a decent library of props to make the area look cool. The way I go about ‘propulating’ is by first placing things that would actually be in that place in a real world environment, then go over on a second pass to make it look good. For example, I would place a box against wall (so it’s out of the way) but then to make it interesting I would rotate it slightly, have the lid slightly ajar, have papers sticking out of the box, etc.

As I mentioned, with the cast library of assets I’ve built for myself I was able to not only dress the floor of the level, but also the walls. Additionally I modelled several power boxes, wires and general electronics that I could place on the walls. The one probably I have with this stage is going over top, im trying not to use the same assets multiple times however at the same time im trying to get ‘my money’s worth’ of each asset. see above.


bottom of page