top of page

FMP 019: The Penultimate Peril

(Basement doors + secret door + upstairs area inc. door + screenshots + started decals + packaging)

Second to last week of fmp, little nervous. Not having much time left, Calum and I began to list off the things we definitely need to get done for hand-in. looking at what we specifically stated in the brief, we decided to cut out all gameplay assets. The brief states we would have the game playable to the extent that you could simple walk around the environment. Things such as interactivity and more ‘gameie’ mechanics can be added later on in the week before degree show. Putting a list of what we need to get done for hand-in put everything into perspective and actually calmed my nerves slightly.

This week I spent my time modelling quite a few doors. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to just make one and copy them over. I modelled a metal door and frame for the basement, a standard wooden house door for the small upstairs area and finally a giant vault door and frame for the secret entrance to the basement. Their nothing special with regards to the model, again, just simple boxes. The vault door is a little more complicated, but none of the doors took too long to model. Texture wise, I had to make sure the doors fit where they would go. I switched back and forth between substance paint and the engine file to make sure the colours/amount of wear and tear made sense for each door. Finally, I imported the doors and door frames in engine. I spent time placing the assets in a manful way, for example some of the doors are slightly ajar, and one of the doors in the basement has a window that has a view of a small scene I put together. I need to mention specifically that during this engine time I also populated the upstairs area which up to this point was empty.

The three doors I modeled

Right now it’s safe to say that no additional assets will be imported into the engine file, apart from decals I’ve began to work on. With this being the case, I began to take several promotional/beauty screenshots of each area and taking them into photoshop for a slight fix up. I quite pleased with how much work and how far we’ve come. Next week will be spent packaging the game and recording a flythrough of the level. We’ve had a few problems with the game not packaging properly, as it’s also the last week I am a little worried.

below are screenshots of the 3 areas I said I would create for this project. There you go.(I'll upload the rest of the screenshots I took next week)

“We’re not out of the woods yet!”


bottom of page