top of page

FMP 018 - Contingency Week

(Lift assets + Pin board + population (lift shaft) + lighting + painted walls)

I’m currently one week behind, but that’s ok, I’ve made time for this. This is the first contingency week. The weeks towards the end of the project have been left open to either begin stretch goals or work on things I was wasn’t able to finish the first time round. Obviously I’m a week behind, so stretch goals can wait a little longer.

The main aspects of the environment that I worked on this week includes the lift, the lift room, the lift shaft and the pin board in the basement. Also using calums materials, I vertex painted the concrete walls.

The lift was a little tricky to model. The reference I used wasn’t quite what I wanted the lift to look like, so I hand to wing a lot of the design. Another problem I faced was getting it to work in the level, there were several importing and exporting problems that ate up a lot of time. Didn’t help that anything exported from unreal opened in max would crash. If ever there was a point I’d just give up on the project it was this week. To add to the unfortunate events, the unrteal engine just decided to run at a fraction of the speed it should be. It feels like I’ve done no work these last few weeks, but it’s just the engine running slower and slower.

For the lift shaft, once the lift was completed I used it along with the whitebox to make sure everything fits together. Wanting to save time, I simple used a combination of the vent assets and the wall assets to give the illusion of a unique lift asset. I think it worked quite well.

Finally, I worked on the pinboard that can be found next to the table in the basement. This was relatively smooth to make, however when I was working in max there were several crashes (not my week). At the very least, working on the same thing over and over again does speed up your workflow (maybe?).

Next week should be the finishing touches to the basement, then the finale week is packaging time!


bottom of page