top of page

FMP 011: Easter Eggs

We’re one week into the Easter holidays and I’m still working on FMP.

At the start of the project when planning out what we would be doing week by week we decided to include the Easter break into the time scale, we also reserved 3 weeks at the end of the project as a contingency week.

As I mentioned last week, the main aim for FMP WEEK 11 was to have the lighting to a completed state. Lighting is very important in a 3D environment, I believe it can either make or break the atmosphere, similar to how a bad texture can ruin a good model.

Having taken part in an art test for Foundry 42 the past two weeks, I have slowly fallen back in terms of asset making. I decide to try my best to catch up this week. Although lighting is important, a whole week shouldn’t be needed on this one aspect. I spent the first few days of the week tweaking the interior lighting and adding a post processing volume to the interior of the house. We we’re having a lot of problems with the lights not baking properly which I was able to fix.

Once I was happy with the lighting I decided to back track a finish off the rest of the assets on the asset list I put together a few weeks ago. Here’s a list of the assets I was able to complete this week:

  • Apple, Banana, Orange

  • Fruirt bowl

  • Ashtray

  • Armchair, pillow, cover

Labs were closed from Friday to Tuesday (next week) which took quite a hit to my work, noting having the best computer, the work at home was much slower compared to my work speed in labs. I’m quite pleased with the amount of work I was able to create this week. The living room is at a stage where I can call it done. Of course there is always something more I can model or add to the scene but I simply can’t afford to put any more time into it until the end.

As a little bit of fun for myself, this weekend I decided to get started on the basement (which I officially start working on next week). Being Easter, I chose to model an Easter egg that could be found in the basement. For those of you that don’t understand what kind of Easter egg I’m talking about is an intentional inside joke found in a game. The name is used to evoke the idea of a traditional Easter egg hunt.

My easter egg is the one and only sputnik, the first artificial Earth satellite launched into space by the Soviet Union. I modeled the satellite in such a way that the several components that make it can be place around the basement as general population. Granted I could have spent this time on a more vital asset, but I thought it would be a nice joke for the player to come across in the game. As I mentioned, next week I will begin the more important assets of the basement.


bottom of page